Skip to content

Bulletin 2006-10

by on October 1, 2006

Queens Chess Bulletin



by Joe Felber

With the Club Experts and Class A players participating in the concurrent 9th Queens CC Futurity, the 2006 Summer Open was won by Neal Bellon (1603) and Zoltan Sugar (1747). Each player scored four points out of five, and so they split the combined total of the $120 first prize and $60 second prize (or $90 each). The 5-SS, 30/75, 17-player event was held at the Club between 08/04/2006 and 09/01/ 2006 (inclusive). The $60 prize for the best score in the 1426- 1600 rating category was won by Richard Ziet (1499), who finished with a score of three points out of five. Doing a bit better was Guy Rawlins (1374), who defeated Suriyan Nathan (1426) in somewhat surprising fashion in the final round. Finshing with 3.5 points out of five, Guy won the $60 prize for the best score in the rating category Under 1426 and Unrated. Deserving honorable mention with three out of five were the young Bryant twins, Jehron (1399) and Nigel ((1391)—- we hope to see them for many more events at the Club! The tournament was jointly directed by Chief TD/ VP Ed Frumkin and Club President Joe Felber.



by Joe Felber

Robert Guevara, with a June 2006 Quick rating of 1835, and Jeffren Viera (1740 Q) shared first and second place in the 65th Speedy Open — each scored three points out of four, and won $22.50 for his efforts.

The six-player Game/15 4-SS event (with a $10 EF) was held on June 30th at the Club, and was played under the Quick Chess rules of the U.S. Chess Federation.

Taking the third-place prize of $5 (so we like players to come back!) was Mitch Drobbin (1806Q), with a final score of 2.5 points out of a possible four.

This time there were no late “stragglers” seeking to play, so the “chess festivities” got underway fairly promptly at 8PM.  This writer suspects that the turnout was so low, because a number of the Club “regulars” were either at the World Open or  were watching the Mets- Yankees game!

Rob  Guevara was leading the event 3-0 going into the last round, but then he lost a tough battle against co-winner Jeffren Viera.  The latter player suffered a sudden defeat against Club President and TD Joe Felber in Round 1, but then fought back admirably to win his last three contests.

The other two players in the event were the Ryba brothers, who played their usual enterprising brand of chess.  Nicholas finished with 1.5 out of four, and Andrew and TD Joe Felber “brought up the rear” with one point out of four.

______________________________________________________________________________  FRUMKIN SWEEPS THROUGH JULY OPEN

by Jay Kleinman

Taking advantage of the fact that a number of the Club’s Experts and A-players were taking part in the Futurity, Club V.P. Ed Frumkin (2026) swept like an opportunistic infection through the Queens July Open with a perfect 4-0 score.  He won $100 for his raid.  Andy Bauer (1621), ranked 9th out of 17, pulled a Swiss gambit, losing to Frumkin in Rd.1 and then sweeping through his remaining opponents.  Along the way Bauer pulled off consecutive upsets over Andrew Ryba (1760) and Kenny Cruz (1763).  His score of 3-1 landed him in a 2nd place tie with Richard Ziet (1419).  Ziet’s performance was also impressive as after a first-round loss to Tony Lorenzo (1800) he won three straight including back-to-back upsets over Jim Frawley (1602) and Mulazim Muwwakkil (1817).  Bauer and Ziet each won $50 for their performances.  Suriyan Nathan (1431) took the class prize with 2.5 and won $40, while Henry Milerski (1400), Guy Rawlins (1346), and John Fusto (1018) scored 1.5 and won $7 each.



by Jay Kleinman

Brian Lawson topped a field of Experts and A-players with a score of 6.5 out of 9 in the 9th Queens Futurity which concluded September 15th.  Bill Arluck and Arunas Simonaitis were right behind him with 6, and Larry Tamarkin, last year’s winner, finished with 5.5.  The tournament, the Club’s only FIDE-rated competition was run, as always, as a 10-player round-robin.  Marring this year’s version somewhat was the sudden withdrawal of Jeffren Viera.  Viera failed to show for his final two games (against Simonaitis and Rob Guevara).  FIDE typically prefers that all games be played, although because Viera completed most of his games Ed Frumkin considers it likely that FIDE will still rate the tournament.



by Jay Kleinman

Friday, September 29th, saw the Club’s annual meeting held with few surprises.  The current slate of officers was re-elected (Ed Frumkin and Joe Felber both reconsidering their earlier decisions to retire from governance duties),  Jay Bonin analyzed several games as he does each year and the same questions were asked and answered about the Club’s tournament time control.  Different year, same stuff.



1993                Anatoly Tonkonogy   6

1994                Edgar Cimafranca Jr.   6

Joseph J. Felber          6

1995                Brian Lawson              6

1996                Ed Frumkin                 6.5*

1997                Jay Bonin                    6

Ed Kopiecki                6

1998                Ed Kopiecki                6

1999                Peter Bierkens             5.5

Edgar Cimafranca Sr.   5.5

Brian Lawson              5.5

2000                Jay Bonin                    5.5

Alexander Stripunsky 5.5

2001                Jay Bonin                    6

2002                Devlin Sinclair 6

2003                Jay Bonin                    6

2004                Jay Bonin                    6

2005                Jay Bonin                    6

2006                ???

*(Eight rounds instead of the usual seven)






Passov,A (2044) – Frumkin,E (2012) [B09]

Altantic Open (2), 25.08.2006, Annotations by Jay Kleinman

1.e4 d6 2.d4 Nf6 3.Nc3 g6 4.f4 Bg7 5.Nf3 c5 6.Bb5+ Bd7 7.e5 Ng4 8.e6 fxe6 9.Ng5 Bxb5 10.Nxb5 Qa5+ 11.c3 Qxb5 12.Qxg4 cxd4 A popular position.  Now 13 Nxe6 is the only move played. 13.Qxe6 Qf5 14.Qxf5 gxf5 15.Ne6 Kf7 (Diagram)


16.Nc7 [16.Nxg7 Kxg7 17.cxd4 And no one can claim an advantage here.] 16…Na6 White’s pursuit of the Ra8 is a dead end.  Black’s now winning. 17.Nxa6 [17.Nxa8 dxc3!] 17…bxa6 18.c4 Rhc8 19.b3 d3 20.Rb1 Rab8 21.Kd2 Rxc4 22.bxc4 Rxb1 23.Kxd3 Bb2 24.Kc2 Rxc1+ 25.Rxc1 Bxc1 26.Kxc1 e5 27.Kd2 Ke6 28.Ke3 h5 29.g3 Kd7 30.h3 Kc6 31.Kd3 h4 [31…Kc5–+] 32.fxe5 [32.gxh4 e4+µ] 32…hxg3 33.Ke2 d5 34.c5 Kxc5 35.Kf3 f4 36.h4 d4 37.h5 d3 38.h6 d2 39.Ke2 g2 40.h7 d1Q+ 0–1



PRESIDENT/TREASURER       Joe Felber                                 WEBMASTER              Brian Lawson

VICE PRESIDENT                   Ed Frumkin                              SECRETARY               Jay Kleinman


The Queens Chess Bulletin is edited and published by Jay Kleinman.  All submissions welcome.


PDF: 2006-10 Bulletin


Comments are closed.