Skip to content

Tamarkin Tops 8th QCC Futurity

by on July 29, 2005

After a five year hiatus, the futurity returned in the summer instead of the spring with a tightly bunched field (rating wise) with four FIDE-rating aspirants and six hoping to improve their own.  Larry Tamarkin finished clear first with 6½-2½ with no losses; two of his wins were from his closest pursuers, Bill Arluck and Mitch Drobbin, who both finished at 6-3.  Brian Lawson was fourth at 5-4, unbeaten but with only one victory.

Jay Kleinman, at 4½-4½, should regain his former FIDE rating and Mitch Drobbin should have earned one.  Tamarkin won $225, Arluck and Drobbin $100 each, and Lawson $70.  Ed Frumkin, Arunas Simonaitis, Marian Waxman, Mulazim Muwwakkil and Joe Felber also participated.

Comments are closed.